Five people you meet in heaven by Mitch Albom

Why? Because I’ve learned that life doesn’t absolutely end when you die, it may continue in order to teach you the mystery of your own death.

“Each affects the other, and the other affects the next, and the world is full of stories, but the stories are all one.”

The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins

Why? Because Panem is so similar to our society, that it gives you goose bumps at times. And Katniss Everdeen became a role model.

“At some point, you have to stop running and turn around and face whoever wants you dead.The hard thing is finding the courage to do it.” 

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Because I fell in love with the characters and because I cried so hard in the end.

“There are infinite numbers between 0 and 1. There’s .1 and .12 and .112 and an infinite collection of others. Of course, there is a bigger infinite set of numbers between 0 and 2, or between 0 and a million. Some infinities are bigger than other infinities. A writer we used to like taught us that. There are days, many of them, when I resent the size of my unbounded set. I want more numbers than I’m likely to get, and God, I want more numbers for Augustus Waters than he got. But, Gus, my love, I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful.” 

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson

Because I had such a great laugh.

“You should just accept who you are, flaws and all, because if you try to be someone you aren’t, then eventually some turkey is going to shit all over your well-crafted facade, so you might as well save yourself the effort and enjoy your zombie books.”

Bridget Jones: Mad about the boy by Helen Fielding

Why? Because it was the first book I’ve read from Bridget Jones series and fell deeply in love with the main character (she’s like my alter ego). It really convinced me to read the whole Diary.

“Why are bodies so difficult to manage? Why? ‘Oh, oh, look at me, I’m a body, I’m going to splurge fat unless you, like, STARVE yourself and go to undignified TORTURE CENTRES and don’t eat anything nice or get drunk.’ Hate diet.”

Gone Girl by Gillian Flinn

Because of Amy’s diabolic, yet brilliant brain.

“The ones who are not soul-mated – the ones who have settled – are even more dismissive of my singleness: It’s not that hard to find someone to marry, they say. No relationship is perfect, they say – they, who make do with dutiful sex and gassy bedtime rituals, who settle for TV as conversation, who believe that husbandly capitulation – yes, honey, okay, honey – is the same as concord. He’s doing what you tell him to do because he doesn’t care enough to argue, I think. Your petty demands simply make him feel superior, or resentful, and someday he will fuck his pretty, young coworker who asks nothing of him, and you will actually be shocked. ”

How to Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran

Because I had fun an learned a bit about what really means to be a woman.

“These days, however, I am much calmer – since I realised that it’s technically impossible for a woman to argue against feminism. Without feminism, you wouldn’t be allowed to have a debate on women’s place in society. You’d be too busy giving birth on the kitchen floor – biting down on a wooden spoon, so as not to disturb the men’s card game – before going back to quick-liming the dunny. This is why those female columnists in the Daily Mail – giving daily wail against feminism – amuse me. They paid you £1,600 for that, dear, I think. And I bet it’s going in your bank account, and not your husband’s. The more women argue loudly, against feminism, the more they both prove it exists and that they enjoy its hard-won privileges.”

