Disclaimer: This is not a book review. I don’t do book reviews, but when I find a book I really like, can’t help not to write about it here. So there it is, one out of many (!!Hope) books I fell in love with.

One day-David Nicholls

This week-end (or most of it anyway) I was entertained by Dexter and Emma, Em and Dex. I haven’t read a book with such joy since Twilight saga, five years ago, when I stayed in the house for one week reading all the books. Must admit I began reading One day, at the beginning of January, but wasn’t so found of it. I just put it aside and decided to leave it for another time. But this Friday, while on Goodreads, decided to give it a try one more time. And couldn’t stop until this morning.

At first I thought it’s just another romance novel, another cheesy love story, plus it was quite long for my taste. But God, was I more wrong. This is not a love story, at least not a typical one. It is love in all the aspects and forms. A kind of love you rarely meet in your life and if you do, make sure not to blow it. It’s the pure love that comes along under the shape of friendship and if you are wise enough you can keep it for as long as you live. Frankly, I don’t know what made me fall in love with this book, was it Dexter- the charming man, was it Emma and her wise remarks and sarcasm, was it their story or was it the whole concept. Truth is, it made me go back in time in the university years where everything was so fun and reckless. Made me think about all the friends I’ve made there and lost along the way, all that life that transformed me.

If you’ll ever read this book, as I truly recommend you to, you’ll probably fall in and out of love several times with the characters, as I did, along their journey. You will probably find out that you have many things in common with one of them or even both, or you truly think they are stupid, but you can’t stop reading to see what happens next. And the suspense is so big, that you expect for something bad to happen while you turn the page, but it doesn’t so you feel relieved. But when you think that everything is safe, it does and you continue reading to see what comes next. That’s how I felt for the past two days.

Great novel, David Nicholls! Great novel!

Image via

