As a woman  I like to read chick lit from time to time. After a long day at work the best thing to do is have a good laugh with a funny book. I totally love Sophie Kinsella, Jane Green, Helen Fielding or Lindsey Kelk. Whenever I read them, it’s like a complete connection with the situations and characters, they are so random, therefore extremely funny.

Today, from all of these I chose to talk about my favorite lady of all time: Bridget Jones. Oh Bridget, you are so much like myself or I am so you in so many ways that makes it impossible not to love you. Funny enough I was introduced to Mrs. Jones in Mad about the Boy, the last book from the series and she captivated me so I decided to read the rest of them. Even though it was a pleasurable reading the second book was a bit long and at times boring, nonetheless I managed to finish it. From all of them the best still remains the third one as there is a maturity in Fielding’s writing skills and the narration is flawing, even Bridget seems more rational. She has to be, after all these years. People usually learn some lessons in time and she is also. Bridget Jones’s Diary is a must read for all the ladies out there who in their thirties think that world is going to end if they don’t get married soon and have nightmares of dying all alone and being eaten by wild dogs . Here are 5 reasons why you should read Helen Fielding’s series in your late 20’s or early 30’s:

  1. It’s definitely a women’s book and, unless you are a prude, you will relate to her at one point in her story.
  2. You will be more thankful for the things and persons you have in your life.
  3. You’ll understand friends’ power and their importance through hard times and it will make you reconnect with older friends or just give a call to your actual ones and invite them to hang out.
  4. You’ll thank God for not having a mom like Bridget, but if you do have one like her than you must have a very interesting life indeed.
  5. You’ll laugh so hard at times, you might need the toilet. Mental note, do not read this book while on a bus or other public transportation.

And now, before I go back to my offline life must share some of Bridget’s thoughts and words:

“Whole dating world is like hideous game of bluff and double bluff with men and women firing at each other from opposite lines of sandbags. Is as if there is a set of rules that you are supposed to be sticking to, but  no one knows what they are so everyone just makes up their own.”

“Dad was crying. I think Dad is having a nervous breakdown. Mind you, if I’d been married to Mum for thirty-nine years I’d have had a nervous break-down, even without her running off with a Portuguese tour operator.”

“I hate communal changing rooms. Everyone stares sneakily at each other’s bodies, but no one ever meets anyone’s eye. There are always girls who know that they look fantastic in everything and dance around beaming, swinging their hair and doing model poses in the mirror saying to their obligatory obese friend who looks like a water buffalo in everything.”

“The more the sun shines the more obvious it seems that others are making fuller , better use of it elsewhere possibly at some giant soft-ball game to which everyone is invited except me; possibly alone with their lover in a rustic glade by waterfalls where Bambies graze, or at some large public celebratory event, probably including the Queen Mother  and one or more of the football tenors , to mark the exquisite summer which I am failing to get the best out of.”

