This week for our musical journey I decided to choose the songs from 1999 that made me dance, dream, love back then and songs I still love listen to now as a great memory. So here we are, starting with Backstreet Boys and I need you tonight a song I fell in love with from the first time I heard it. Same thing happened with Flying without wings and Against all odds from Westlife. Basically the entire Westlife’s album from ’99 is great. Ricky Martin, apart from Livin’ la vida loca, had another nice song that year, a song I enjoy listen to even now. Ronan Keating, a former Take That member, impressed me with his When you say nothing at all. Great song. And Moby is like a medicine when you are in a bad mood or feeling blue.

Enough with the slow songs. Moving on to something more danceable now, like The Cranberries with Just my imagination, Blondie and their Maria , Santana with Maria, Maria and Tom Jones and Sex bomb. Different styles, different rhythms but good songs. Waiting for tonight (Jennifer Lopez) was another good party song, same as S Club Party (S Club 7), No Scrubs (TLC), That don’t impress me much (Shania Twain). Genie in a bottle (Christina Aguilera) or When the heartache is over (Tina Turner)- which is my favorite song of 1999.

From party songs we move to some rock ones, because sometimes you just feel like listen to some rock. I loved HIM with Join me in death (a bit black but I had my black moments also). Also Blink 182 with two songs What’s my age again and All the small things and The Offspring with Why don’t you get a job always made me laugh that is why I like them even after all these years. Another rock song I really love is Scar Tissue (Red Hot Chili Peppers).

There are two more songs worth mentioning: Unpretty (TLC)- love it for the message it sends and I try (Macy Gray)- love the voice and style. Hope you enjoyed the music I chose from ’99. ‘Til next week, take care and listen to good music.

