Reading is the best way to relax, as long as you have a great book in your hands. I don’t have a set genre I like to read so from time to time I like to try something different. Today I’m going to write about one book I’ve read recently, a children book to be more exact. Due to my job I’m stuck with children books, rereading some of them more than 5 times a week. Ended up to memorize the lines, but then again, that is part of the job, going along with rhymes and songs.

And now, ladies and gents, I give a big round of applause to Mr. Roald Dahl who really made my day, while reading his Revolting Rhymes– a book dedicated not only to children, but to everyone. Apart from being one of the greatest storytellers of all times, Dahl was a total genius. His dark humor is phenomenal, same as the way he created the rhymes and put them into a story. In this book there are six famous stories retold in a very authentic way: Cinderella, Jack and the beanstalk, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Goldilocks and the Three Bears, Little Red Riding Hood and the Wolf and The Three Little Pigs.

Cinderella’s story is sending a very good message in the end. After going to the ball and after seeing the prince’s true colors, decides to take a different path: “No more Princes, no more money./ I have had my taste of honey” going for a decent chap instead.

In Jack and the Beanstalk, which is my favorite from them all, Jack becomes a millionaire in the end by learning an important lesson. I won’t give any spoilers, just to make you curious. J

Snow White steals the Magic Mirror from the “silly queen” and give it to the seven dwarfs who really need it due to an addiction they have. “Thereafter, every single day,/ The mirror made the bookies pay./ Each Dwarf and Snow White got a share,/ And each was soon a millionaire”. Maybe, Jack, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs all became friends and made their own millionaire club.

Goldilocks is being accused of crime by Dahl: “Crime One, the prosecution’s case:/ She breaks and enters someone’s place./ Crime Two, the prosecutor notes:/ She steals a bowl of porridge oats./ Crime Three: She breaks a precious chair/ Belonging to the Baby bear./ Crime Four: She smears each spotless sheet/ With filthy messes from her feet./ A judge would say without a blink/ Ten years hard labor I the clink”.

Little Red Riding Hood and The Three Little Pigs are connected in a way you’d never imagine. I won’t say more than that because I want you to go to the bookstore and buy the book. I assure you, you’ll have no regrets, but a blast reading it.

Would give Revolting Rhymes the higher rating possible, even though some words are a bit unappropriated for children, but then again, if you’re reading it to younger children, you can always skip the nasty words.

