Been woken up again by my neighbors’ baby. Since I moved in, he’s been screaming every night at the same time, like he had a certain schedule to follow. But tonight I couldn’t take it anymore and had to tell them to do something. Maybe take him for a walk.

“What’s the matter darling? Is the building on fire?” said a sleepy man in his mid-fifties who opened the door after I knocked for five times. How could he sleep with that high pitch screaming? Maybe he was too tired or he got used to it. After a while you get immune.

“Sorry to disturb you, but every night, around this hour, your child starts screaming and today was one of my worst days, so I had to come and tell you all about it. A bed time story might help” I could see the surprise on his face but couldn’t guess if it was due to my words or to my Star Wars pajamas.

“I certainly don’t know what you are talking about, my dear. I have no children or wife so I live alone in this flat. So if you’ll excuse me now, I would like to go back to sleep.” With that he closed the door behind him and I was left there standing in complete awe. It was just me and him in the whole building.

Next night, same time, the screaming began louder than ever. Then I realized it was in my flat all along.

