I love travelling and I do it whenever I have the opportunity. I like the thrill of it. Going into unknown you don’t know what to expect. You might face Heaven or Hell, the best or the worst of times, depending on your luck. The trip I’m going to write about today, happened in December 2008. It wasn’t the best of times, but quite the opposite for me and my best friend. Chaos was upon us and we had no escape, just to face it.

In the first place, that shouldn’t have been a trip, but a working winter season. Well, obviously things didn’t turned out exactly how we expected. After moving around Greece from Kaimáktsalan, to Lefkada and Thessaloniki we realized there’s no better place like home, where we should have been, before Christmas. Those were three weeks from Hell, but now that I think about them, they don’t even seem real. It doesn’t seem real the fact that the ski resort was empty and all the ski lodges looked alike so we were always getting lost. It doesn’t seem real that we had to search for wood to make a fire in the fireplace as it was freezing cold and central heating wasn’t working. It doesn’t seem real that one week before Christmas we were the only people wondering around Thessaloniki with huge luggage, looking for a place to sleep. Having no money, the options were limited. We even called the embassy for help, but it was on the other side of the city, so we just gave up. Ended up in the train station, exhausted and depressed. Luckily  a friend called just after midnight and took us to her place.

It took me a couple of months to move on from that nightmare, but that trip changed me and made me see the world a bit different. I think that was my wake up call and for that I might consider it one of the best trips I ever had. You see, sometimes you have to go from Heaven to Hell , just to learn some valuable lessons. And we sure did.

