Theme: Map. (Whether you choose to write about an actual map, an imaginary one, or just about a particular route that means something special to you, make today’s poem about a space you inhabit (or wish to. Or would rather avoid).

Form: Ode ( An ode is a laudatory poem celebrating a person, an object, a place, etc.)

Device: metaphor (brings together two terms that aren’t normally connected, yet make sense once they are)

Ode to Barcelona

The world is full of wonderful treasures

One has to search them for his own pleasure.

I love being on the road and visiting places,

That captivate and twist all of my senses.

But from all the travelling I’ve done,

There’s one place that really blew my mind.

This place I’m going to write about today,

Is beautiful in every single way.

Its mesmerizing hills collide into the sea

Forming a beach you need to see.

Its culture and arts are very rich

Architecture impresses and it’s easy to reach.

You always feel welcome when in its arms,

Like a child being cuddled by his mum.

I’ll always come back to you with delight, my dear friend

Understanding why Gaudi worked for you until his end.

There’s no other place more beautiful than you,

Barcelona, I truly love you, I do!

Image

