As you could notice by now, I do love reading. There’s a lesson to be learned from every book, you just have to dive into it and see where it gets you. But (there’s always one in 95% of the cases) there are books that simply don’t speak to. You pick them up, start reading and nothing is clicking. There’s no chemistry, nothing. So what do you do? Continue reading and discover you were right in the first place. To tell you the truth, I just give up, if nothing promising comes out after second attempt. Instead of reading a book that doesn’t attract me, I prefer to move on. It’s a bit like a love matter. You can’t stick with someone if there’s nothing there, no affection, no spark. That would be just a waste of time, no matter how many lessons that person can teach you. Maybe it’s not the right time or the right person to do so. Same with books.

In 2015 I read all kinds of books, some of them were brilliant, some were ok and some weren’t for me. Today I will list the ones I could not finish, the ones I couldn’t immerse in.

  1. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

This book was recommended by my manager. She praised it so much that I decided to give it a try. Oh man, was I wrong when I decided to follow her advice. There was something about this book that was off. In the first pages of the book you find out what happens to Susie and from there on everything gets dull. Too much grieving and less action. Gave me no reasons to finish it. Am positive I won’t give it another chance. It’s not for me.

  1. Life after Life by Kate Atkinson

I wanted to read this book so bad and I even found it intriguing at one point. But it became tiring soon and going in a circle like a dog chasing his tail. I managed to read half of it and by that point, couldn’t help but give it rest. Just made me dizzy. I appreciated the concept and the beautiful writing style, but that wasn’t enough to make me finish it. If I have nothing interesting to read this year (which rarely happens) might give it a last try.

  1. Lord of Flies by William Golding

I mean how much bullying can someone digest in one book? I can’t, especially because am working with children. Some bullying related trauma from childhood might also be involved, but Lords of flies, wasn’t a book for me.

  1. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

I wanted to red Uglies because I was still caught in the frenzy of Hunger Games. Plus I like dystopian worlds. So I decided for this YA dystopian novel which started promising, but the moment Tally decided to venture into the wild I just lost interest. A bit too cliché I guess and might have pictured the action in a different way. Won’t pick it up again.

  1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

I liked this book in the beginning, but after a while it started to give me the chills. There’s something about old photographs that creeps me out. Might be that article I read on Wikipedia about post-mortem photography. So I don’t know if I will ever finish Ransom Riggs’ book. The reviews are quite promising, though.

  1. Prime suspect by Lydia La Plante

Well, this book was different. My colleagues said it was brilliant and gave it to me for a read, but wasn’t in the mood for it. So I just happen to pretend I read it. Luckily no one asked any questions about it as I wouldn’t have caught lyingJ.

What about you? Are there any books you couldn’t finish last year? 

