We all change over the years and same happens with the language. What’s left are the lessons worth sharing with the world

What Next: Behind Roo's Ruse

alphabet cubes

I’ve been reflecting upon pop language, or catch phrases.

Common catch phrases today:

  • Baby daddy/baby mommy (single parents)
  • Bae (before anyone else/anything else)
  • FOMO (fear of missing out)
  • Troll (the updated, viral version of the essential stalker)
  • #hashtag (anyone not familiar… never mind)
  • Lit (very intoxicated – so, not that much has changed)

This led me to examine what’s changed over the years. I have changed distinctly since I was that young. For example, I grew up with such phrases as:

  • “Easy come, easy go” (not necessarily good),
  • “Do as I say, not as I do”
  • “Trust and obey”

no time fussing fighting

And a little later on:

  • Make love not war
  • Flower Power
  • God is dead
  • Busted (You got some ‘splaining to do*)
  • Up in Smoke (original plan diverted)
  • “This tape will self-destruct in five seconds”** (something to be kept secret)
  • “Book’em, Dan-O” *** (coolest phrase ever – to be interjected whenever possible)

white smokeLater still, I…

View original post 511 more words

