Music was my refuge. I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl my back to loneliness.

– Maya Angelou


Music  is magic. It can take up to Cloud number 9 or down close to Inferno, in two seconds, but the journey will be the most intriguing thing you’ve ever experienced without moving. It brings back good or bad memories, but after its magic is over, you are a changed person,  for better or worse.

I was raised with music. Queen, ABBA,  Boney M, The Beatles were bands I knew from early age. When I was alone at home I used to listen to my dad’s vinyls records and sing along using my made up lyrics. In high school I slept only with the radio on and that’s how music became a part of my life.

It’s true I’m a big fan of 80’s and 90’s,  but each decade has its own great hits. As for now I chose a couple of songs that either give me goose bumps, enhance my energy, make me sing along, dance or contemplate the world. Their magic brings me back to life, whenever I’m down. Here they are:

They are different in so many ways, but all of them have that something that works for me. What about you? Do you have a list of favorite songs that are magical to you?

